Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart National School Boys Team

posted 18 Jun 2012, 11:53 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 18 Jun 2012, 14:56 ]
18/06/2012:  The Kildysart National School Boys Team lost the West Clare Division 3 School's Final in a tight and hard fought match against Carrigaholt.   Aaron Slobody opened Kildysart's account in the first minute but Carrigaholt equalised 4 minutes later.  There was no score for the next ten minutes but then Carrigaholt pointed to take the lead. Each side traded frees in the last few minutes to close the half Kildysart 2, Carrigaholt 3.

The second half opened with a goal from Carrigaholt but Seamus Casey got the Blues right back in it when he goaled 5 minutes in. A Luke McGrath 45' levelled the sides 01 03 each at the end of the third quarter.  Mikey Donnellan was keeping everything cleared in the back line and Seamus Casey and Stephen Sheehan were moving the ball forward.  Carrigaholt's goal with 10 minutes left put them in front but another free from the boot of Luke McGrath kept Kildysart in the game.  Carrigaholt's final point with 4 minutes left gave Kildysart no option but to go for a goal when awarded a free from 10 metres out.  Stephen Sheehan blasted the ball on target but it was blocked.  The ball wasn't cleared and Kildysart made two more attempts but too many Carrigaholt legs got in the way.  Final result: Kildysart 01 04 to Carrigaholt 02 04.  Best for Kildysart:Stephen Sheehan, Mikey Donnellan, Luke McGrath, Seamus Casey, Emmet McMahon.

Team: Emmet McMahon, Mikey Donnellan, Eoghan Hogan, Darren Crehan, Seamus Casey (1-0), Luke McGrath (0-3, 2f, 1 45') Stephen Sheehan, Ryan Casey, Aaron Slobody (0-1), Diarmuid O'Donnell, Darragh Watson.  Sub: Jack Kirrane for D. Watson

Front Row: Darren Crehan, Dean Hanrahan, Shane Frawley, Darragh Shearer, Diamuid O'Donnell, Seamus Casey, Aaron Slobody, Emmet McMahon, JJ McQuaid, Patrick O'Connell, Conor Hassett, Conor Moloney.
Back row: Coach Emma O'Driscoll, Luke Kirrane, Jack Reidy, Conor Cusack, Darragh Watson, Jack Kirrane, Gary Murrihy, Ryan Casey, Cian Murphy, Paul O'Sullivan, Luke McGrath, Eoghan Hogan, Mikey Donnellan, Lucca Andrucietti, James Kelly, Stephen Sheehan.