Match Reports‎ > ‎

Murphy's Injury Time Goal Sends Minors into Final

posted 2 Sep 2015, 14:14 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 12 Sep 2015, 08:34 ]
02/09/2015:  The sides could hardly be separated over the course of the 60 minutes in this tight and tense affair as friends, neighbours, cousins and classmates from Kildysart/Coolmeen and Clondegad battled it out for a place in the Minor A Football Final. It it took an injury time goal from Cian Murphy to edge the amalgamation in front with a 1 point victory - they now face Cooraclare in the final. The game's opening score came via a Cillian Brennan goal for Clondegad in the 6th minute and this was the largest deficit between the sides for the remainder of the match.  Kildysart/Coolmeen responded with a point from Luke McGrath and this was countered by a free from Ryan Power at the start of the 2nd quarter.  Kildysart/Coolmeen drew level when Alan Normoyle's free lobbed over the goalie's head and into the back of the net.  Cian Murphy put Kildysart/Coolmeen in the lead but the gap was closed once again with Ryan Power's second free.  Seamus Casey gave the amalgamation the half time advantage when he pointed the last score of the half: Kildysart/Coolmeen 1-3, Clondegad 1-2.

Scores were hard to come by in the second half though both teams played for all it was worth in a very physical match.  Clondegad's Cian Gavin brought the sides level 8 minutes into the restart and neither team scored for the next 15 minutes until Conor Lynch put Clonedgad ahead by 1 in the 53rd minute. Lynch was called upon again and put the boys from Ballynacally in front with just 1 minute left on the clock. Things were looking pretty dim as multiple attempts from Kildysart/Coolmeen just couldn't produce the goods.  The lifeline eventually came when a high ball into the square broke favourably for Cian Murphy, who shot it to the back of the net.  Clondegad had one more chance to level the match deep into injury time when they were awarded a free inside their own 45' but the ball trailed off to the right and wide.  Final score: Kildysart/Coolmeen 2-3, Clondegad 1-5.  It's a cliche to say that no team deserved to lose this match but Clondegad played some excellent football worthy of champions and Kildysart/Coolmeen never gave up the belief that they could win.

Kildysart Minors are also into the Division C final v the winners of Banner & Clooney Quin.

Front row: Aaron Slobody, Darragh Cleary, Cian Murphy, Mark Meaney, Luke McGrath, Conor Donnellan, Seamus Casey, Stephen Sheehan, Ryan Casey, Mikey Donnellan.
Back row: Alan Normoyle, David Cusack, Ben Cleary, Adam Carrig, Kieran O'Brien, Barry Crehan, Rory McMahon-captain, Darragh Watson, Aidan O'Loughlin, Sean Wallace, Kevin McMahon. Absent from photo: Diarmuid O'Donnell, Alan Cunningham, Brian Meaney.