Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart Ladies Win Championship Opener

posted 22 Apr 2018, 13:21 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 23 Apr 2018, 08:26 ]

22/04/2018:  Fresh from their two league victories, the Kildysart Ladies Junior B team travelled to Crusheen for their Championship opener and came away with a win Kildysart 4-9, Crusheen 0-5.  Winning the toss, Kildysart elected to play uphill against the strong breeze in the first half.  The girls settled into this match quickly, having gained experience and confidence from their first two outings.    

Crusheen opened the scoring with a free in the third minute before captain Sinead Fox started off Kildysart’s run of 4 unanswered points.  The backs did an outstanding job and limited Crusheen to only 2 points in the half.  An interception by cornerback Katie Neenan, who was dogged all afternoon, resulted in the first of 4 goals for Kildysart when Emma Finucane blasted it past the keeper.  Roisin Donnellan, who had her first goal attempt stopped point blank by the keeper was successful with her second chance when the ball lobbed into the top left corner.  Score at halftime: Kildysart 2-5, Crusheen 0-2.

With the wind and the hill behind them, Kildysart kicked on and also defended their patch well.  In the 4th minute Ashley O’Brien raised the third green flag of the day and by the start of the 4th quarter, Kildysart were ahead 3-8 to 0-4.  The fourth goal was a class act between sisters Emma and Gillian Finucane.  Emma went racing towards goal with only one defender to stop her and just before the mouth of the goal, she made a quick pass to Gillian who fired it low and hard past the keeper.  Final score: Kildysart 4-9, Crusheen 0-5. 

Kildysart: Audrey Kelly, Cheryl Ginnane, Chloe Sheehan, Katie Neenan, Aisling Murphy, Sinead Kelly, Emma Byrne, Amy Murphy (0-3), Kyla Foley, Caroline Casey, Sinead Fox (0-5, 2f), Ashley O’Brien (1-0), Roisin Donnellan (1-0), Emma Finucane (1-0), Catherine Pender.  Subs: for Caiti Donnellan (0-1) for Ashley O’Brien (38 min), Amy Connelly for K. Neenan (42 min), Ann O’Sullivan for Aisling Murphy (45 min), Gillian Finucane (1-0) for C. Pender (50 min), Niamh O’Grady (55 min) for R. Donnellan.  Panel: Alannah Killourghrey, Ruth Finucane, Shona Garry, Teresa Grace, Laoise Kelly, Hazel O’Donoghue, Sarah Casey, Rachel Conway