Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart Juniors in the Division 6 Final

posted 19 May 2018, 11:36 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 19 May 2018, 12:49 ]
19/05/2018:  The Kildysart Junior’s victory today over Coolmeen (0-20 to 1-11) is enough to secure their place in the Division 6 Final and also guarantees them Division 5 football next year. With five wins on the scoreboard, Kildysart are top of the table and are straight through to the final.  With St. Breckan’s on 7 points, Moy on 6 and Coolmeen on 4, game 6 on the June bank holiday weekend will determine which two teams get to the semi-final.  Kildysart host St. Breckan’s, Moy host last place Kilmihil and Coolmeen host Wolfetones so it’s all still to play for, with the other finalist also getting promoted to Division 5.

Kildysart started brightly and had five points on the board from Diarmuid O’Donnell (x2), Brian Moloney and Seamus Casey (x2) before Enda Haugh opened Coolmeen’s account with back to back frees in the 6th and 11th minutes.  Over the next 15 minutes Kildysart doubled their score with another run of 5 points from Keith Murphy, Stevie Sheehan, Christy Clancy, Casey, & O’Donnell, while Coolmeen added another brace from Paul Hehir and Jamie Brooks to have Kildysart in front 10 points to 4.  Coolmeen’s Sean McMahon cut the lead in half with a goal in the 27th minute but points from Casey and O’Donnell left Kildysart in front by 5 at the break, Kildysart 0-12, Coolmeen 1-4.

Kildysart raced into a 10 point lead by the 13th minute (0-18 to 1-5) with Dermot O’Sullivan getting the opening point of the half.  This was followed by a lovely score from wing back Diarmuid Ginnane after a long run forward.  Coolmeen rallied for a bit with scores from Haugh (x5) and  Sean P McMahon but Kildysart’s lead was never in danger.  Eoin Cleary’s point and Flan Ginnane’s fisted effort earned their names on the scorecard and Kildysart ran out comfortable winners:  Kildysart 0-20, Coolmeen 1-11.

Kildysart: Aidan O’Loughlin, Cormac Ginnane, Brendan Frawley, Stevie Sheehan (0-1), Diarmuid Ginnane (0-1), Kevin Kelly-captain, Christy Clancy (0-1), Keith Murphy (0-2), Brian Moloney (0-1), Dermot O’Sullivan (0-1), Seamus Casey (0-6), Diarmuid O’Donnell (0-5), Eoin Cleary (0-1), Terry Murphy, Noel O’Grady. Subs: Flan Ginnane (0-1) for K. Kelly-inj (25 min), Noel Murphy for T. Murphy (46 min), Kieran Connolly for Dermot O’Sullivan (49 min)

Coolmeen: Adam Carrig, Mikey McGuane, Barry Vaughan, Michael Kirrane, Alan Corry, Declan Casey, Keith Farrell, Sean McMahon (1-0), Aaron Kelly, Sean P McMahon (0-2), Jamie Brooks (0-1), Eoghan Corry, Enda Haugh (0-7), Paul Hehir (0-1) , Kevin (Jack) McMahon
Sub: Michael McMahon