Match Reports‎ > ‎

Intermediates Unlucky to Lose Garry Semi-Final

posted 30 Jul 2013, 01:18 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 30 Jul 2013, 01:19 ]
20/07/2013:  It was a balmy summer's evening and a big crowd from Kildysart travelled back to Kilrush to see their team play for a spot in the Garry Cup final and Cusack Cup football for 2014.  The home side elected to play with a slight breeze and were quickly ahead 3 points to nil in the opening minutes. Kilrush continued to lead 8 points to 2, with Kildysart points coming from 2 Ger Kelly frees, up to the 23rd minute.  Kildysart got a life line after Keith O'Connor made a solo run up the field which Keith Murphy finished to the back of the net.  A Damian Murtagh free before the break left just 2 points between the sides, Kildysart 1-3 - Kilrush 8 points.

Ger Kelly started the scoring for Kildysart in the 2nd half and added a well taken free from the 50 metre line to bring the Blues level with the Shamrocks in the 39th minute.  The next 15 minutes was nail-biting stuff with Kilrush pulling ahead 3 times and Kildysart matching point for point to remain level. Kildysart were gaining momentum and went 2 points up with 3 minutes remaining before 2 dubious calls by the ref rewarded Kilrush and they drew level, Kildysart 1-10 - Kilrush 13 points.

Added Extra Time was called for and Kilrush came charging out of the block and built a 6 point lead by the end of the first period.  Kildysart were unable to close this gap in the second period and the match finished with final score Kildysart 1-12 - Kilrush 1-18.  The club is very proud of the Intermediate team's performance in the league and is looking forward to the Championship which kicks off on Saturday 3rd August v Miltown in Cooraclare.

Team:  Liam Griffin, Michael Eustace, Shane McNelis, Kieran Eyres, Damian Hill, Brian Eyres, John Ginnane (0-1), Keith O'Connor, Neil O'Connor, Damian Murtagh (0-2, 2f), Ger Kelly (0-8, 2f), Ian Slobody, John Murtagh, Keith Murphy (1-0), Brian O'Sullivan (0-1).  Subs:  Niall Ginnane for J. Murtagh, Eoin Cleary for I. Sloboby, Christy Clancy for D. Murtagh, Brian Moloney for D. Hill.